It seems like history repeats itself for me…

I seem to have a problem. I usually start with one thing, move to another thing, consider moving back, but continue, and eventually move back. This was the case with steering wheels.

I had the OEM steering wheel, replaced it with a newer leather one, then the Alcantara CSL one, and then back to leather. Then moved to a Momo Leather/Suede, to an OMP Suede wheel, to a Momo Suede. What I noticed with the suede is that it would wear down VERY quickly – especially at around the 7 o’clock position, if the wheel were a clock. The steering wheel just started to feel like crap after a few months of usage. Which bothered me. Luckily I only paid around $100 for the wheel.

Before I even decided on a new steering wheel, I wanted to get a spacer for my wheel, which would move the steering wheel closer to me. The biggest spacer that they made was around 20mm. I decided against just a spacer and wanted to get a new steering wheel since my red one was so shot. This time I was going to go with a deep dish leather steering wheel. I think the leather will “wear” better and the dish would act as a spacer of sorts.

I found a 90mm dished steering wheel called the Momo Mod 08. This time I wouldn’t need to use electrical tape as a center line 😀

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Previous set-up

Photobucket

Photobucket

New set-up

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

I haven’t driven the car, but I am thinking about taking it on a late night cruise today or an early morning mountain run!

Can’t wait to feel the car w/this new steering wheel!

Leave a Reply

