Bimmerworld E46 M3 Race Exhaust – wow.

Wow. Thats all I have to say.

Coming in at 27 lbs – front where the oem section 1 starts to the exhaust tip – the Bimmerworld E46 M3 Race Exhaust is a serious piece of stainless steel. Before we get to how amazing and how LOUD this exhaust is, lets start with the story as to how I came across this exhaust.

My friend Lightwerkz had a 3 inch straight pipe with a magnaflow muffler made for him by Maximum PSI in Linden, NJ. He ran this all season long and he claimed that it gave him incredible gains. I was never a big fan of the 1 tip look. It was incredibly loud and I just was in love with my Supersprint Race Exhaust. I liked the sound on the track, especially when I gave him the point by, but on the street, I couldn’t imagine driving it.

Fastforward a few months and my friend Tonggi sends me a link to Bimmerworld’s website. I had started to get annoyed that everyone under the sun was getting a Supersprint Race. It was once a rare exhaust and ever since there was a group buy, everyone and their mother had a SS Race. It no longer was unique or rare. I immediately was interested in the BW race exhaust. They claimed 10 hp gain and 12 lb tq gain at the higher end of the RPM scale. This is important to me because my car usually lives above 5000rpm (90% track 10% street). I also liked how the exhaust was 3.5 inches vs. the 3 inch custom pipe that my friend had. Bimmerworld knows what they are doing and considering they are claiming such an increase in HP, I was really attracted. But what could I have done? The SS Race sounded so good at high rpm. What a dilemma.

Tonggi decided to get the exhaust and put it on his car. I knew that it was going to be loud, but boy oh boy I was not expecting how GREAT it sounded. It honestly sounded like a F/18 Harrier Jet, or whatever it was that Arnold flew in True Lies. I was so amazed at how good it sounded. On the track, I ran with Tonggi and the thing sounds AMAZING. Especially at wide open throttle, I was truly amazed at how great it sounded.

It was hard to sell the Supersprint. I had lusted over one for over a year, but after listening to the Bimmerworld Exhaust, there was nothing else I could do. It sounded phenomenal. I couldn’t go back to loving the SS Race. It was not LOUD enough! I placed a for sale ad for my Supersprint Race Muffler and my resonated section 2. They were sold within a few hours. Called up Bimmerworld and placed the order. $999 + $47 shipping and it was at my house in 2 days.

Here it is in all its glory out of the box it was sent in:

Photobucket

Part that connects to the headers

Photobucket

Pit of carcoon

Photobucket

Nice welds

Photobucket

Bung for Exhaust Gas Temperature sensor (EGT)

Photobucket

Photobucket

The way the pipes connect is very clever. Superpsprint and other companies use sleeves and clamps. The Bimmerworld guys made the connecting points flared like how a trumpet would look and you line both of those up and “wrap” the connection with this clamp that can be bolted down.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Almost there

Photobucket

So the way the exhaust mounts to the headers is simple – just bolts on. We reused the OEM bolts since the ones Bimmerworld provided were too short. The way the mid-pipe mounts to the car – unfortunately I was not able to take pic of the center reinforcement plate, but to explain it, you mount the rubber hangars off center as to surround the exhaust pipe. This plate is then mounted in its original spot and that holds the center part up.

Photobucket

Since we have a single tip, we no longer use the oem exhaust hangar mounting points. Bimmerworld supplies a washer and bolts that you should put on both OEM exhaust mounting points exist – this is done in order to hold up the heat shield back there:

Driver side:

Photobucket

Passenger side:

Photobucket

The way the end tip/muffler is mounted is clever. Bimmerworld provides a plate that has hooks welded onto it. You mount this plate and attach “universal Powerflex hangar mounts on it.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

As you can see there are hooks. I will have better pics of this universal hangar and how it slips onto the muffler. Sorry guys!

Sound!

How does it sound? Like heaven.

Here is one video that I uploaded – not so good

I will post better videos tomorrow. So far, I am very pleased with the exhaust’s manufacturing and sound.

How does it feel?

I was so shocked at the power that I felt in the upper RPMs. I have never been pushed back in my seat in the M3. I was tonight. It SCREAMS. I love how it just wakes up at 4k rpm and just takes over. It sounds great. It feels even better. I would like to dyno my car to see if I am pushing over 310whp. I dyno’ed my car in January of 2008 and I was putting down 290whp – and I was running OEM headers w/cats. Going catless definitely gave me 10 whp. I am hoping this puts me over the 310 whp mark.

Anyways, more videos and pictures to come tomorrow! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

